Low fps with RigidBodyControl added to Terrain

Hi,

Admittedly I’m a jme3 newbie (but at least well versed in Java). I’m creating a game which currently has 3 models loaded, water and terrain (mostly based on examples for now). With physics activated amongst the models, everything is working fine and fps is around 30 - 70. But when I add

terrain.addControl(new RigidBodyControl(0));
    phsyicsState.getPhysicsSpace().add(terrain);

to the terrain, the fps drops to 1 on a Lenovo W530, 2x4 cores with a Nvidia Qadro K2000M. The physics work fine though. I do not understand what I’m doing wrong. Are the models too complex or wrong ? Or is there a bug in the engine ?

The source code is available on GitHub - neuweiler/CarrierCommander: A java based open source re-make of a once fantastic game
(uncomment lines 323-324 in CarrierCommander.java to see the fps drop)

BTW: Thanks for this wonderful engine ! Setting up the base for this game was done in about 5 hours with the tutorials. Really stunning results with such little code ! I started with Java3D in 2007 and ended up freezing the project. jME3 really is a “game” changer :wink:

I’m not sure why you would want the terrain to be affected by physics. I have to admit that I have never used bullet physics, but I’m a physicist and it does not make much sense to me.
If you would like to apply some force on terrain, of course it would be the appropriate form of Newton’s law (actio = reactio). But usually terrain is much heavier than anything else, so you can just neglect the force that acts on terrain.
Therefore you should use terrain as an inertial reference frame, for all other physics, where objects move relative to some terrain.
Maybe you can clarify this.

One reason for the frame rate to drop is, what I think of, the shear amount of triangles, that needs to be checked for collision. If you can’t find the collision with other objects then physics just won’t work.

1 Like