Ludam Dare Team Competition August (24 – 27)

This is in inspiration from Erlends thread.

Would anyone be interested in doing the competition with me? I think with the power of jME and its awesome members, we can produce something quite spectacular in 48 hours :). I have never done a ludam dare before, so don’t know the procedure exactly, but everyone who has done one using jME in the past, says they learn a lot! and i imagine it would be really fun as well! :stuck_out_tongue:

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/

Edit: The team based event is actually 72 hours long

2 Likes

I should finally have time for one of these now, so I’d be happy to participate. I’d be taking up the “use me for whatever” role, i.e. the concept stage (I’ll downscope you back to the stoneage), loads of playtesting, rounding up & testing free resources and so forth.

2 Likes

Tempted. Very tempted… I’ll have to think on this.

1 Like

would be awesome to have both of you onboard! we are so gonna blow the other competitors out the water :smiley: and after we win, jME will only gain more in popularity <3

also i just looked at the rules, and the Jam Event (Team based) is 72 hours long (edited OP). Doesn’t look like theres a limit on the size of the team tho, so more people are welcome :slight_smile:

Any valuable experience to share from previous LD contests? I think I shared some links somewhere once myself…

I think the (rather obvious) key to a strong submission would be to use as much of jME3’s existing functionality as possible. By that I don’t mean trying to make use of as many jME3 features as possible, but rather handpick a few really powerful ones. For instance, just by combining TerraMonkey and BioMonkey, you already have a very strong foundation for a game that’ll be both visually pleasing and dynamic.

We could even try settle on a short list of must-use tools beforehand, that way we’d have some creative restraints to narrow down the concept stage for us.

1 Like