Making trees in jmonkey

Hello guys!

I’m new to jMonkey but studing java programming.

I’m making a game (ofc) and have trouble creating trees. I’ve used unity earlier when you can just drag-and-drop trees. Is there any way to do the same in Jmonkey?
If not, which is the best way?

I imported the jme test data package and saw that there was a tree in there, but how do i actually use it and place in into the terrain?

Two things:

1. No, jME will not generate trees for you.
  2. Yes, you can add a model in your scene and place it somewhere.

Personal opinion: Don’t expect too much visual editing in jME, especially compared to unity. You have much more possibilities when you program.

1 Like
@m41q said: Two things: 1. No, jME will not generate trees for you. 2. Yes, you can add a model in your scene and place it somewhere.

Personal opinion: Don’t expect too much visual editing in jME, especially compared to unity. You have much more possibilities when you program.

1. Okey! But how do I add a the tree from java test data package, if you know what i mean?

2. How does everybody place trees into the scene in jmonkeyy? Am I the only one with problem? =P

1. I personally do not know the java test data package too well. But I guess the trees are stored somewhere as .j3o files. That’s what you need to find.

2. Two ways:

Either you add it via programming “assetManager.loadModel(”…");" and place it via “setLocalTranslation(…)”.

Or (that’s more what you want I guess): You can add the model in the scene via the SceneComposer.
However this is pretty basic jME stuff and can be easily found in the tutorials: SDK Tutorials
Take a look at the videos, Importing Models, Dragging and Dropping Nodes and Scene Composing especially.
(Tough everything else is gonna be useful sooner or later anyway.)

1 Like
@mrbanana said: How does everybody place trees into the scene in jmonkeyy?

My personal solution: