Material Definition to render an obj like it appears in Blender

Hello JME community!

So I’m new to JME and I’m currently working my way through the tutorials. What I’m trying to do isn’t for a game but actually for an academical purpose. My long term goal is to render a few scenes that test out LOD aspects with various test models. For this I need to focus on the graphics output purely on the model detail and nothing else. So what I’d like to do is render a mesh (exported from Blender, obj format) just like it appears in Blender, without a texture but a default grey shading. From the tutorials I gather that this is a question of writing the right material. With the unshaded material that is used in the first tutorials there is no vertex border visible at all in the mesh, it just becomes a silhouette. With the basic lighting shader it just looks really strange. Can you give me any pointers on how to render the meshes in JME just as they appear in Blender’s workspace?

Thanks in advance.

Make sure you also read the documents linked at the top of this page (and the page itself :)):

https://wiki.jmonkeyengine.org/legacy/doku.php/jme3:external:blender

I read that three times now but I’m not seeing what I’m missing.

Let’s start with something very simple. I have a model of a cup of tea with a single mesh imported in Blender. I installed the Ogre3D XML exporter script. The mesh has no textures. The mesh has no animations, normal maps or other kinds of shaders, it’s just a mesh. It has one material that has no fancy options checked except a diffuse and a spectacular color.

I go to export → Ogre3D (scene and mesh). The “Hello Assets” page suggest the following settings:

Activate the following exporter settings:

Copy Textures: YES
Rendering Materials: YES
Flip Axis: YES
Require Materials: YES
Skeleton name follows mesh: YES

I don't even have these settings. For me the export options look like this:
[image]http://puu.sh/1aGay[/image]