Messaging System Creation

Hello, I’m very new to JME3, and I’ve been wondering whether there is a messaging system, or if not what the best tactic for implementing one would be.

To clarify what I mean by messaging system, here’s an example: Thing A’s controller decides that Thing A needs to do something like sound an alarm. Thing A does so which should be able to inform all other things. Thing B’s controller gets the notification that the alarm is on and decides that Thing B should help.

Many engines have a unified messaging architecture where the controller would do something like messageSys.postMessage(MessageSystem.SOUND_ALARM); and then anything that has registered to receive that message will be notified with a callback,

Is there already a system like this in JME3 or would I need to implement that myself?

If so what would be the best way to leverage the existing systems to make implementation easier?

I’d probably use Controls and AppStates for this.

Your AppState is a game-wide thing - that can be used to pass messages. Say your Control is an AIControl of some sort that governs the behaviour of the entity, in its update loop, if a certain thing happens, it can notify the Messaging AppState that something has occurred. Anything listening to messages from the AppState can then act upon that.

So I’d probably create an interface for any class that would want to listen to messages. You may also want to include things like the coordinates of the message, in which case your code would look something like this:

[java]

public class AIControl extends AbstractControl {

//some code here

@Override

public void update(float tpf) {

messagingSystem.addMessageToQueue(new AlertMessage(this.getLocation(), AlertType.ALARM, time));

}

}

[/java]

[java]

public MessagingSystem extends AbstractAppState {

public void addMessageToQueue(Message message) {