Missing hexagon

Hi,

first of all, i’m fairly new to this, so maybe i just searched the wrong way. I need a hexagon for my project, and some quick googling revealed this. There is a hexagon listed (and some other forms) but i can’t import it for some reason.

import com.jme3.scene.shape.<…> only offers me AbstractBox, Box, Curve, Cylinder, Dome, Line, PQTorus, Quad, Sphere, Torus.

do i need to download the other forms somewhere and include them, or what’s the deal here?

Thanks in advance for your help!

jME3 doesn’t expect you to use the basic shapes but either load models or define the vertexes for your shape yourself: https://wiki.jmonkeyengine.org/legacy/doku.php/jme3:advanced:custom_meshes

You’d seldom build a game world from primitive shapes, not even minecraft does that, although it looks like it :wink:

honestly, it will only use basic shapes :o it’s an adaption of a board game, which only contains hexagons, cylinders, and cubes. (well, some circles for markers too)

Ahah… but are the hexagons flat or 3D shapes? Is there going to be one of them or is it a whole flat game board of hexagons?

Beyond the very simplest of shapes things rapidly take on a life of their own and either become so general to be overly complex or so specific to one use-case as to eliminate all others.

You can sort of simulate a hexagonal shape with a cylinder with the proper number of radials. If it’s flat shaded it might work otherwise it will look round if you are going for something 3D.

Depending on the size you won’t, as around 3000 object count will start to kill fps badly!

For a smalll monopoly sized field there is no much need for more intelligent system, same might go for D&D dungeon, but if you think about battle isle or similar you better do a more intelligent approach

ah, i think i see your point :slight_smile: still, i’d like to know why they aren’t included anymore. they certainly would come in handy for some playing around while learning :smiley: