Missing .instance() method (not related to JME)

Hi,

I got some source code to work on it - a project written in Java which uses LibGDX.

There are several lines of code lke this one:

Provider.get(SomeClass.class).instance();

The problem is that IDE can’t find .instance(). There is no such thing in sources.
I’ve never used Provider before, I don’t need to understand it, touch it or even look at it. Google does not helps this time. I’m sure that something is missing - I have there clean IntelliJ and Java 1.8 u 100-something.

Any hint?

Where is Provider being imported from?

It doesn’t seem to be the one in Java.

1 Like

Just noticed that… they have their own Provider:

public final class Provider {
    private static final Logger logger = LoggerFactory.getLogger(Provider.class);
    private static final Map<Class<?>, ReferenceHolder> holder = new HashMap<Class<?>, ReferenceHolder>();
    private static final Map<String, ReferenceHolder> holderNamed = new HashMap<String, ReferenceHolder>();

public static <T> ReferenceHolder<T> get(Class<T> clazz) {
    return get(clazz, false);
}

public static <T> ReferenceHolder<T> get(Class<T> clazz, boolean recreateIfExists) {
    if (recreateIfExists && Provider.contains(clazz)) {
        Provider.drop(clazz);
    }
    ReferenceHolder<T> refHolder = holder.get(clazz);
    if (refHolder == null) {
        if (isScoped(clazz, ApplicationScoped.class)) {
            refHolder = new ApplicationScopedReferenceHolder<T>(clazz);
        } else if (isScoped(clazz, PrototypeScoped.class)) {
            refHolder = new PrototypeScopedReferenceHolder<T>(clazz);
        } else {
            throw new IllegalStateException(String.format("No scope defined on clazz %s!", clazz.getCanonicalName()));
        }
        holder.put(clazz, refHolder);
        if (clazz.isAnnotationPresent(Named.class)) {
            holderNamed.put(clazz.getAnnotation(Named.class).value(), refHolder);
        }
    }
    return refHolder;
}