Missing Z buffer in plain StandardGame?

Hey all,

I’m an old-skool C++/GL programmer with some C# and D3D knowledge, and I’m now learning Java/jME. Well, re-learning Java, as I actually worked on two JVM implementations back in the 1.0/1.1 days :wink:

Following the StandardGame tutorial, it creates a box, sets the vertex colors randomly, and adds the box to a DebugGameState.

However, when rendering (on my GeForce 7400), the box renders wrong. It almost looks inverted, but by hazarding a guess, I’d say the Z buffer is not working, and the box is being rendered without backface culling.

Is this a known issue? Is it intended to be this way?

The documentation is all functions/classes and no overview or requirements, I’m afraid, so it hasn’t answered this question when I looked.

Just make a ZBuffer render state for your Node. I think only SimpleGame creates a ZBufferState for you…

(though if that's the case it should probably be mentioned in the http://www.jmonkeyengine.com/wiki/doku.php?id=simplegame_to_standardgame tutorial)

Thanks for the answer! Unfortunately, I'm already creating a ZBufferState, and attempting to make sure the settings request a depth buffer from GL. At least, I think that's what I'm doing. Here is the code:

import com.jme.math.*;
import com.jme.scene.*;
import com.jme.scene.shape.*;
import com.jme.scene.state.*;
import com.jme.system.*;
import com.jmex.game.*;
import com.jmex.game.state.*;
import java.util.prefs.*;

public class TestMain extends StandardGame {

/**
    * @param args The arguments to the program.
    */
   public TestMain(GameSettings gs) {
      super("TestMain Game", StandardGame.GameType.GRAPHICAL, gs);
   }
   public static void main(String[] args) {
      GameSettings gs = new PreferencesGameSettings(Preferences.userRoot());
      gs.setDepth(32);
      gs.setAlphaBits(8);
      gs.setStencilBits(8);
      gs.setDepthBits(8);
      gs.setFullscreen(false);
      gs.setVerticalSync(false);
      gs.setWidth(800);