More info about jME?

Hello,

as you might've noticed from my other post im new to these boards and just registered, so a big hi to everyone.

I've just recently installed jME and am following the tutorial with great interest. I have no real experience with 3d engines nor game engines so I'm a bit clueless what makes jME better than any other engine besides that its in Java and im far more proficient in Java than C/C++. :slight_smile:

When I initially made my choice I was doubting between jME and Ogre. Ogre has some nice screenshots but thats more artist-related than engine. Maybe it would be interesting for jME to have a very nice-pretty engine demo of its capability's? I'd even want to make one myself as im about to make semester for my own at college where I want to pick this as subject (which more or less means I can meddle with jME freely for 10 weeks).

Perhaps someone can tell me what the substantial differences between jME and Ogre(or any other engine) are because when I read the feature list I just see a bunch of letters without meaning to me  XD

Maybe im asking the wrong question but I'm interested in what jME's is capable of. Tried looking at the showcase but 9/10 pictures aren't showing up.

Thanks!

there are many demos showing capabilities on the jme webpage and even more in the sourcecode :slight_smile:

Yea I've ran all of them but I don't see what's special about them. I mean, they look pretty but I can't see the whole picture of all those effects in game thats why i'm interested in seeing a demo with all those features combined in demo. If you've seen the Half-Life 2-source-demorun, then you know exactly what I'm aiming for. Maybe it's easier to ask if jME is equal to source?

:lol: