Multiple Classes, with only 1-3 extending SimpleApplication

Hi, I am wondering how you would make your project so that only one class extends SimpleApplication. There would be different classes loading assets, and I found out that the assetManager comes from extending SimpleApplication, but I don’t want every class to have a simpleInitApp() feature. So, I was wondering how you would do this.

via constructors. Are you a beginner java programmer?

[java]
public class myClass
{
public myClass(AssetManager assetManager)
{

}

}

[/java]

Yes, I am a beginning java programmer, but I am halfway through a Java All-in-one book for dummies. I thought that the assetManager was only available through extending SimpleApplication, and I got confused a bit, until I found out that it’s part of the com.jme3.assets.AssetManager class. Anyways, thanks for the help.

No worries - we all start somewhere. Feel free to ask away if you get stuck, and good luck!

1 Like

I know that you use the nodes to attach render the assets (I think), but where would I find the class for this? (Other than extended from SimpleApplication)

you attach them to the rootNode. You should only extend SimpleApplication once, else you will have multiple scenegraphs. the rootnode can be found in the main class via .getRootNode();

I have that down, and now that I figured that out, I understand jme3 a lot better. Just one more problem: I called the assetmanager perfectly, with AssetManager asset = game.getAssetManager();, with game being the main class object. But I can’t find the first part for the rootNode, so it would be something like <RootNode> root = game.getRootNode();. Or, do you just do this: game.getrootNode.attachChild(bunny);?

nvm, I figured that part out. :slight_smile:

I have a new problem, which is that I am getting a NullPointerException when I run it. Heres the code in the model loading class:
[java] public Init_Map() {

Game game = new Game();
    AssetManager asset = game.getAssetManager();