Multithreading and GameState

Hey Guys, I'm new to jME and I've got some questions about general game architecture's that jME supports. Right now I'm using darkfrog's StandardGame class and I would like to use GameStates for my functionality like he recommends. However, I am also looking for a good way to incorporate multithreading as well. I've got a lot of internal game logic I intend to be constantly running (things like background loaders for sound and terrain, and various other things) and I'd like to use separate threads for these things. I saw jjmontes use of GameStates (where he had a ClientState, RenderState, ServerState, etc) and I thought that it was a very clean method of breaking up code. Unfortunately, due to the nature of GameState update method, GameStates seem to require linear processing.

What my question boils down to is this… Does anyone have any idea how to incorporate the excellent code separation that GameStates provide along with multithreading capabilities?

I think you're trying to multithread something that can't/shouldn't really be multithreaded.  GameStates are intended to process scene-graph information via the update method.  All of the scene-graph updates should be done in a single thread…there's really no reason for them not to be and it would be incredibly complicated to try to split that work out.

Where multithreading gives you benefit is in the non-scene-graph aspects of the game.  All you need to make that happen is a separate thread.  For example:

MyGameState state = new MyGameState();
...attach and enable...
MyNetworking networking = new MyNetworking();
networking.setMyGameState(state);   // Might be useful for the networking to have a reference the game state - though there are many ways to handle this
networking.start();
MyAI ai = new MyAI();
ai.setMyGameState(state);    // AI will need to access the scene-graph
ai.start();