Multithreading approach for many AI

Hi all,

As this is my first post I want to thank all the contributors to the great project that is jmonkeyengine. I will surely contribute if one day I write something worth sharing.

At the moment I’m still learning (and having a lot of fun) while writing a little game for which I have a general design question that is not even jmonkeyengine specific.

In my game I have what I call enemies (100 or 200 at most). Those enemies require to do cpu intensive tasks like pathfinding.
For that reason I’ve put their logic in callables. Each enemy has its own callable and is called many times per seconds. Many is about 60 right now but that may change.

It’s working great when I only read final attributes.

As expected, things start to get weird when I stop caring about thread safety. (For example accessing other enemies’ positions as is).

There is a couple of solutions (like copying everything I need or using java’s sync/atomic mechanisms) but I don’t know where I should head to.

I see a lot of downsides for each approach. I fear there is no such thing as a best way and I don’t want to implement-test-profile them all if that can be avoided.

What would you do if you were in my shoes ?

Please keep in mind that :
(1) there is about 50-100 and up to 200 enemies
(2) I’m not a multithreading guru
(3) each enemy has its own callable
(4) each callable is called many times per seconds right now but I may slow that down and extrapolate what I can.
(5) the callable is updating many enemy attributes (it’s not just about pathfinding)
(6) I’m doing my best to fix (2). (3),(4), (5) and (6) can change if you have better ideas.

Best regards and thanks again to all contributors,

I 've actually thought about a similar Problem but I didn’t have the time to implement it.

What you could do, though, is simply having all logic done in jme’s update thread and only multithread stuff like pathfinding.

That way you have a kinda frame-lock for the positions.