Music Composition, Anyone?

I've been starting to think of how I can get some really great game music (think Need for Speed SE). My game is still in its infancy, but I'm planning to achieve a quality that might justify a small commercial venture. So with that said… who out there has some experience composing music, or can recommend a good cheap (free is better) software bundle if I were to attempt this myself?

I'm not so much looking for a list of links, but more for a discussion.

There is no wizard tool that helps compositing music.

Though, I have been a pop/rock/heavy composer and I could try some test in other genres. Tell me if you are interested.

I caught my complete novice friend using fruity loops yesterday http://www.flstudio.com/documents/what.html… I dont know the demo / price restrictions though. Trance music is pretty easy to make yourself with a bit of experimentation… Even a single loop at a time will sound musical. Worked well with wipeout!

I think a good choice would be going composer hunting on indi musician webpages and communities. I am sure there are people out there who have talent but no outlet for that. Inspire them with your game idea and they might be ready to help you out. I have heard that it is quite hard to find artists but perhaps it is easier with musicians?

Mindgamer said:
I think a good choice would be going composer hunting on indi musician webpages and communities.

Thats along the same lines of what I was thinking.

jiminy said:

I caught my complete novice friend using fruity loops yesterday http://www.flstudio.com/documents/what.html.. I dont know the demo / price restrictions though. Trance music is pretty easy to make yourself with a bit of experimentation.. Even a single loop at a time will sound musical. Worked well with wipeout!