My new little project, Mythruna: A morphable-world RPG of sorts

Hi, this is my first time posting here so be gentle. :slight_smile:

This is a little coding obsession I started about two weeks ago or so. It’s a JME3 based game project and the world currently behaves very similar to another “crafting and mining” game you might have heard of :wink: but things will diverge greatly from there. The entire world is dynamic, every 1 meter block can be destroyed or stacked, lighting can be added/removed, etc… Hopefully the attached screen shots give a little feel for it even though it’s early (really early) in the project.

Next steps are to get it networked and start adding some of the role playing and crafting elements. Then it starts to feel like an actual game. I’m also still constantly tweaking/adding textures and so on and trying to get my materials to play nice on different hardware.

I wonder, what is the process an independent developer uses to get stuff tested on a bunch of hardware configurations? I’ve tested it amongst a handful of my friends and my own computers and performance and runnability varies widely. My OpenGL is rusty and I know there’s still a bunch of tweaking I need to do to my shader code, etc. to get it to be more robust. (For example, I’ve found shader code that works on one nVidia card won’t even link on another nVidia card without tweaking… good times. Maybe there’s a process for validating GLSL that I don’t know about.)

I have a link to a test build I can post but I don’t know if that’s appropriate protocol for this sort of group.

Anyway, thanks for the attention.

7 Likes

:o Amazing! You did this in two weeks? This looks great so far! Can’t wait to see further development!

Is it a randomly-generated island/world? And is that a time-controlled sunset?

Looks great!

Hey, great work! Yeah, GLSL is a bitch in that respect, takes lots of bugfixes for each new shader added to jME3 until its working on most cards ^^