Need some advice

Hi would like to ask some advice. I just finished reading all the documentation and would like to make my first project in jMonkey.
I decided to make a spaceship game similiar to: aero fighter (For those unfamiliar with the game or do not remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t5M4zvO3qa8 )

My big problem is how to implement the scenario. What is the best way to do this? remember that I am new in using jMonkey.

Should I use skybox? or just use a plane at bottom with a picture?

Any advice will be well received.

I’m not sure what to do for the background (to make it infinitely scrollable), though i dont think a skybox is what you want as they dont really behave that way. Youd probably want several background textures that can be tiled, and you can load the next part of the level as you get close. There might be better solutions.

if i did this game i’d probably add all the game objects to the gui node, since its more of a 2d game.

@toolforger is currently in the progress of making a tutorial for a 2D shoot-em-up (but of a different style) you could probably look at the current progress of his tutorial for some ideas though as I’m sure a lot would cary over : http://hub.jmonkeyengine.org/forum/topic/monkey-blaster-toolforger-edition-p1/

Yeah. I was initially hesitant to abuse guiNode for 2D games, but it’s already prepared for 2D display (camera, perspective, culling off, parallel perspective, somethine else I forgot - it’s quite a list), and you can still put your GUI stuff in front of the game itself so it’s not that you’ll be losing anything.

Skyboxes are supposed to be at a “large” distance, so they never change their appearance unless you exchange the texture (which means you transfer the bitmap to the GPU).
Just use moving images.

The tutorial keeps everything at the Z=0 plane. You should be able to get multiple planes by associating a different Z value with each.