Network gaming for the first time

Hello

I’m writing a course work and I’ve just finished on physics. Now I want to implement networking on my project, but I have no experience on it.

Game can have maximum 8 players. At the beginning server starts his game, then clients join him (like quake 3). On each onAnalog() method call player responds with “command”. This “command” executes on player side, players sends it to server, server executes and sends it to other players and players executes it ( [player, execute] → [server, execute] → [other players, execute] ). Server every dt time sends to players information about map and players(players coordinates, terrain change and etc).

I think this should work in the middle of the game, but I don’t know what to do when player joins the game. I thought that it will be enough to send information about map, but I’m not confident about it, because at the moment of sending players maybe executing some “command”.

Could you give me some advices and hints, please.

Typically at the start of a game, you send some kind of start message, indicating all the information the player needs to get started. When that’s over with, you just start your normal routine of messages. The client should not be able to execute a command when it is not completely joined yet, or when the start message has not been received yet. You could say the client is in a pending state.