New Here: Wondering if anyone can answer a few Q's

Hi all,

I am a researcher in Natural Computations (Specifically Alife and Nature Inspired Design / Optimisation) in the UK.  I wish to start developing flocking behaviours in underwater vehicles using only sensory information for guidance, as opposed to the traditional sense (for example Reynolds boids) where the agents get neighbourhood information unrealistically.  The vehicles will be controlled by a neurocontroller which will take in sensory information (modeled sonar) and output the inputs for the vehicles actuators.

The vehicles will be modeled using a 2 thruster design (fixed non rotational) with some sort of pitch control (maybe a hydrofoil etc).

I have never used any sort of 3d 'game' package in my work (i usually create bespoke simulations from scratch) so have a few questions which i was hoping someone would be kind enough to answer for me.

• Can i model the 2 thruster design using a single object (block whatever)  and calculate the new position simply or will i need to have two blocks (one for each thruster) and fix them either side of a main block?
  • Will i need to use jme-Physics???  I only need to be able to measure a collision as a true or false (for the evolution of good behaviour), apart from that i am only simulating the movement of multiple vehicles through a 3d space.
  • I have downloaded the source from the cvs (with all the tutorials in) i was wondering if anyone new of any other tutorial deposits (maybe on the web)

I haven't actually worked out how to model the behvaiour of the vehicle based on the two thrusters yet (although i have a deep knowledge of a lot of things - this kind of thing is something i don't know much about!) so any help would be great.

thanks a lot,

edd

Sorry i think i should clarify on the movement of the vehicles.