New in the Forum

Hi everybody,

I am new with jMonkey. I would like to use such game engine for geographical purposes, but before that i would like to ask you, more experience people, a couple of questions, trivial ones perhaps (sorry in advance).

1- In all the videos I have seen, the perspective /camera is set as first person. Is it possible to move around our modeled world in the same way as for example Google Earth? Rotating the world, zooming in and out…using the mouse pointer.

2- (not so necessary). Does any of you have any idea if jMonkey support geographical geometries? (instead of using local coordinate systems, use geographical coordinates)

Thank you very much for your patience.

Dani

1 - Yes. Camera placement can be done pretty much the way you want. For a Google Map thing, you might want to do a Sphere and update the textures as you zoom-in, zoom-out while the textures are applied to the sphere.

2 - This is a bit over my head but I do think you could interpolate from one coordinate system to another. I’m sure there’s some “converter” code somewhere. If not, you might have to create one yourself, but I’m sure someone more knowledgeable than me can answer that more properly.

Thank you madjack for your fast answer.

For the second question it’s just a matter of math really. Google is the best teacher regarding this :stuck_out_tongue: (regarding a lot of things :stuck_out_tongue: )

look at that http://stackoverflow.com/questions/5674149/3d-coordinates-on-a-sphere-to-latitude-and-longitude

first hit for this query “longitude and latitude in 3d space”

gashsh said:
2- (not so necessary). Does any of you have any idea if jMonkey support geographical geometries? (instead of using local coordinate systems, use geographical coordinates)