New to JME and JAVA - Need to know the limitations of J Monkey

Hello all,

I am currently new to J Monkey/JAVA and I am curious about several things regarding the J Monkey Engine.

Now before i begin I must say this - I have been working with Unreal for about 2 - 3 years in terms of Level Design.

From what I can see J Monkey is a VERY extendable game development platform compared to game engines such as Unreal and even Cry Engine which require a source license to fully utilize.

However I am curious about several aspects of the J Monkey Engine.

Texture Limits, Level design and Optimizing Levels/Assets within J Monkey are some of my questions of the day.

What are the max limit on textures within J Monkey before they become cumbersome on the CPU/GPU? (2096x2096 or higher/lower)

From what I See in the “terra monkey” it is quite extendable but are there any pre set level design guide lines for J Monkey?

What is the Art pipeline like? What format do the assets need to be in to be imported into JMonkey? Can I define a custom Asset Pipeline? ( Example: .FBX, DAE, etc. )

As for Level/asset Optimization - are there any tools for this? (GPU Profiling? CPU Profiling?)

Thank you for your time

Ben aka Head Clot

Hello Ben,

@headclot said:I am currently new to J Monkey/JAVA and I am curious about several things regarding the J Monkey Engine.

You're going to want to rectify the lack of Java knowledge first. http://www.javabeginner.com/

@headclot said:What are the max limit on textures within J Monkey before they become cumbersome on the CPU/GPU? (2096x2096 or higher/lower)

It depends on the GPU. They each have maximum texture sizes, and you'd do well to refer to the whitesheets for your expected audience hardware. My MacBook Pro from mid-2010 supports up to 8096x8096 textures.

@headclot said:From what I See in the "terra monkey" it is quite extendable but are there any pre set level design guide lines for J Monkey?