New user and first impressions of jme3

Hi All. My name is Jaffar, and I am a blind software developer and computer user from Singapore. For the curious, I use a computer with the help of a screen reader, a specialized piece of software that vocally reads and announces textual representations on the computer screen. I am looking into the possibility of developing a game, was doing some research and came across jme3. Although Java is not my favorite programming language, I found that jme3 is highly accessible, meaning that with the help of my screen reader, I am able to use it for coding my game, without having to resort to any third party IDE or resorting to complicated configurations, in other words, jme3 has been useful to me out of the box. Also, i have found it easy to use, and the code easy to learn. Not many open source IDES or frameworks are readily so eccessible and usable out of the box, and for this I must congratulate the team. I’d like to help wherever possible on improving this fantastic games framework, and if there is anywhere in the project, or anyway i can improve usability of this framework among the visually disabled games developers, please count me in. Thanks for your tremendous effort.

11 Likes

Hi, and welcome to the forum.
Would you care to tell a bit about the games you’re making (or planning to make)? Since jMonkeyEngine is usually associated with very graphical output it would be interesting to learn if you’re doing something different.

Hi Jaffar , I am Ali .
Welcome to the forum . I am so glad you chose JME among other game engines. Your interest in making game is so admirable. of course you and me and all others can help to improve JME.