Newbie needs general directions

Hello everyone! Just joined this forum after a while of toying around with the SDK and following the absolute beginner tutorials.

I have to say, JMonkeyEngine is great. While I’m still trying to wrap my head around the basics of the interface, I have no choice but to admit JME3’s superiority over other engines. And it’s open source! And that makes it rise high above the bar that other engines have set. These are first impressions though, and there are a few things I want to ask to get a general idea of how scripting and coding works in JME3.

First off, I’d like to know your opinions of how JME3 compares to Ogre 3D in terms of rendering capabilities. I recall something about Ogre being used for rendering in JME, but am too lazy to check right now, sowwy :confused:

Second thing on my mind is large ocean rendering. This would be fairly simple to implement, I think. What I would do is have three planes of different sizes placed in the same place. The innermost one would have a complex water shader, the center one a simple water shader, and the outer ring would have maybe a small amount of reflections. This is in case there wont be any swimming/sailing. How would I do an ocean LOD system if I for example decided to implement sailing to islands in the distance while still maintaining the maximum amount of detail?

Also, is it possible to make the mesh deform in order to make waves? Even huge ones? With collision?

Third thing is terrain rendering. If I had two meshes for a four square kilometre area of fairly mountainous terrain (random example), one very detailed and one that only has the basic forms, how would I make it so that only a small portion of the low detail terrain is replaced by the high detail mesh? And just to clarify, I’m looking for something that allows the whole terrain to be viewed at once from maybe a high mountain.