Newbie Question on level design, how to make walls, etc

Hey guys,

I am just getting started with jME, so any help would be greatly appreciated! So far I made a outdoor flight simulator with chase camera, a few models, and a ton a cubes for a ‘ground’ - that is the extent of my current knowledge.

I would like to be able to create indoor type environments - see screenshot. I have been unable to find anything about quite how to tackle this. Thoughts? Ideas?

Thank you,

Andrew

Just create them using e.g. blender and then import the model, apply a collision shape and fly :slight_smile:

Normen,

I’ll start looking into blender. I was thinking that there had to be a primitive for just a flat plane of non-square size - I don’t know. Looking into blender.

Thakns, Andrew

It makes no sense composing a 3d level of primitives really

I must disagree here normen, it makes perfect sense composing 3D level from primitives. Especially for someone who doesn’t know or want to play with modelling. :smiley:

Look for example Grappling Hook. :slight_smile:

I’m okay in Google’s Skechup program - and I see that it will export to dae - and also see jME (should) support dae files - now working on that.

No it doesn’t, OgreXML and obj are your only supported options.

Dang. This lead me to believe otherwise.

https://wiki.jmonkeyengine.org/legacy/doku.php/jme2:zathrasbeginnersfaq?s[]=dae#how_do_i_create_my_game_world_3-d_models

Yeah, the “supported formats” for jME2 were greatly exaggerated, few of the importers actually worked, thats why we continue support only for those importers we know can and will work.

Norman,

Is there a tutorial on getting the camera ‘in’ the imported object? Mine simply won’t render it if I’m ‘inside’ the object. Also not sure how to get the collision going either. I’m willing to put forth the time & effort - just need a couple of links to guides, please.

Thanks, Andrew

https://wiki.jmonkeyengine.org/legacy/doku.php/jme3#tutorials_for_beginners