Newbie S.O.S. - Indecisions and Questions

Hi jecs. Thats a nice long post you have there :slight_smile: No reward through, I am sure there have been longer ones :)  I am no expert but I will post my thoughts here in case you scared the smart guys away:

2. 3d models - I think there are 3 options available for you - Collada, Ogr3d XML and md5.

Collada is in XML format as far as I know, but it has some importing problems in jME - as it is a very extensive format, not all functionality is supported and people frequently post on the forum asking for help.

Ogre3d XML should also be… duh… XML. The importer is being developed currently by MomokoFan and Ender. You would require a special exporter for whatever 3d modeller you will use though… I am fairly certain ogre 3d is not an industrial standard format that is natively supported by 3d modelers.

md5 - most actively developed model format ATM probably. I do not think it is XML, but others can comment on that. There are 2 importers developed in parallel - MD5 reader 2 and MD5 Importer.

Some links:

• Some info I have jotted down on modelers in the WiKi
  • Animated models - which format and modeler?
  • Any suggestions for animated models

As to the modeler tools themselves, you should probably pick the one you are most comfortable with. As much as I have heard, Blender is not really more powerful than Max and Maya… just has a steeper learning curve… On the other hand there are lots of help-materials on the net because it is free.

3. Communication issues - I really think you should take a look at JGN. It is being developed by darkfrog mostly. When creating games it is in competition with project DarkStar, but it really sounded to me like JGN would suit your needs better. Anyways here is a discussion thread about the benefits of either library.

1. GUI - well cannot really comment on the swing issues - I use FengGUI myself and flirt with GBUI. No room for a third.