Newbie trouble with importing models

Complete beginner here to jME and 3D development. Was going through the tutorials initially before I ran into some issues. I like to do simple changes to make sure I grasp the material as I go along. Upon getting to the HelloAssets tutorial, I wanted to try and import a simple custom model instead of the ninja model from the provided library. This is where all my troubles began.

First, I scoured the net for some free models and picked a small variety, downloaded the latest Blender 2.63a, and installed the OgreXML import/export plugin. Before I go any further, I’ll state that I’ve tried many different versions of the OgreXML import/export plugin, as well as different Blender versions, and none of them seem to export without tossing an error my way. After banging my head on that route for a while, I decided to just try to convert .blend files into .j3o within jME, again to no avail. At first I was beginning to think that it was due to the models themselves, maybe there was something in their design that wasn’t complete or compatible and caused some problem with the attempts to export or convert them. So I tried to get alternative models and test them, only to have the same issues. Going back over the jME site again, frustrated, one page told me to try to click “Import Model”… although it’s disabled (greyed out) and I can’t attempt that. It seems that every method I try seems to have no luck in obtaining a viable model to use. It seems like it should be simple.