Newbie troubles - missing textures, failing lights

Hello everyone!

I’m just getting started with this engine; I’m running the latest JME3 from a few days ago.

I’ve gone through the tutorials without trouble, but now that I am doing my own test project I am running into all kinds of trouble. Hopefully these can be cleared up easily by someone more knowledgeable :slight_smile:

Anyway, I have a few serious problems at the moment:

1. Models I have made in Blender and exported to Ogre XML format show up, but their textures do not. Even after adding a UV Map (at first I didn’t realize Ogre needed that), the textures just don’t show up when running my game. The files are exported and available.
  2. For some reason, I have constant light on my floor model but nowhere else. The lights that I have actually added are apparently ignored. I added a tochlight (PointLight that follows me) as well as a sun (DirectionalLight) - but neither show up. Even removing both, I expected to see pure darkness - but it’s still the same.
  3. The texture I applied to my floor is stretched instead of tiled. Is there an easy way to tile it so it doesn’t look all weird and blurry?

Does anyone have ideas on what I am doing wrong?
  1. The mesh.xml or scene file you import has to have the same name as the material file that is exported with the meshes.
  2. You probably attached the light to your spatial because you want to move it with your spatial. That does not work, you have to attach the light to the topmost node as it will only affect Spatials that are subnodes of that node.
  3. Texture2D.setWrap(WrapMode.Repeat);

Cheers,

Normen

Thanks for your quick reply!

Unfortunately, that does not solve any of my problems…

1. The files are named UVTest.mesh.xml and UVTest.material. I found out the naming clash thing the first time I tried to convert it to a JME binary and have been making sure they are named the same ever since.