Non-linear rotation values from getWorldRotation()

Help!
I’m looking for a way to get a rotation value that is linearly proportional to the spatial’s actual rotation (without having to tack on some extra trigonometry every time.) I am new to the SDK so forgive me if I’ve missed something. This code sample should explain it. From the comments:

//Watch the output. Notice that the delta (right column)  which should remain constant,
//does not. It changes sinusoidally from ~.05 to ~0.0 as it reaches the 
//max angular deflection of 1.0/-1.0

Thank you. -Andrew

package mygame;

import com.jme3.app.SimpleApplication;
import com.jme3.input.ChaseCamera;
import com.jme3.material.Material;
import com.jme3.math.;
import com.jme3.renderer.RenderManager;
import com.jme3.scene.
;
import com.jme3.scene.shape.Cylinder;

public class Main extends SimpleApplication {

Cylinder c;
Geometry geom;
float temp = 0;
public static void main(String[] args) {
    Main app = new Main();
    app.start();
}

public void simpleInitApp() {
    c = new Cylinder(11,11,1,.1f,5,true,false);
    geom = new Geometry("Cyclinder", c);
    Material mat = new Material(assetManager, "Common/MatDefs/Misc/Unshaded.j3md");
    mat.setColor("Color", ColorRGBA.Blue);
    geom.setMaterial(mat);
    rootNode.attachChild(geom);
    flyCam.setEnabled(false);
    ChaseCamera chaseCam = new ChaseCamera(cam,geom,inputManager);
    chaseCam.setInvertVerticalAxis(true);
}

//Watch the output. Notice that the delta (right column)  which should remain constant,
//does not. It changes sinusoidally from ~.05 to ~0.0 as it reaches the 
//max angular deflection of 1.0/-1.0
public void simpleUpdate(float tpf) {
    geom.rotate(0, .1f, 0);
    try {Thread.sleep(1000);} catch (InterruptedException ex) {}
    float newAngle = geom.getWorldRotation().getY();
    float delta = newAngle-temp;
    System.out.println(newAngle+"\t"+delta);
    temp = newAngle;
}

}