[noob] Controling the camera

Hello.

Besides setting location of the camera I can't do anything else it seems. I created a grass field at 0,0,0,  on XZ plane. I then translate the camera 20 units up (0,20,0) and then wanted to change direction of the camera to straight down, so I could see my field. I've tried and tried and played with the code and nothing. My game extends SimpleGame.

setDirection(new Vector3f(0,-1,0)) … doesn't work, displays nothing, and when I tried to move with mouse and keyboard the world flips out and grass field is rendered different on every smallest input, different location/direction.

lookAt(new Vector3f(0,0,0), new Vector3f(0,1,0)) … doesn't work also, always blank screen even though counter says it is rendering stuff (meshes, vectors…)

so what am I missing here?

Thank you.

hi,

i'm new to JME also, so i can just guess.

do you have a light correctly set up ?

Maybe the Light is not affecting your Node with the grass field.

my "game" extends SimpleGame, so lightning, controls and other basic stuff is all configured. First of all I want to know if I'm using right methodes, setDirection and lookAt … setDirection has trivial documentation and lookAt is documented well but still it doesn't work as I expect.

I feel like total noob, can't even rotate the camera… I think it doesn't get more basic than this.

I just overriden simpleInitGame() as needed, here is the code:

protected void simpleInitGame() {
        TerrainBlock field = new TerrainBlock("grass field",
                new Vector3f(100,0,100),
                new int[4],
                new Vector3f(-50,0,-50),
                true);
        field.setModelBound(new BoundingBox());
        field.updateModelBound();

TextureState tex_state = display.getRenderer().createTextureState();
        URL grassURL = this.getClass().getClassLoader().getResource("viktorije/data/grass.jpg");
        Texture tex_grass = TextureManager.loadTexture(grassURL,