Noob: jme import -> everything black and white

I'm still a JME noob (after several weeks of trying) and could REALLY use some help getting my head wrapped around all this.

The basic problem is that my scene graphs all display white objects on a black background. I suspect the problem is that the jme loader doesn't maintain material information, but I'm too new at this to be sure.

My objects originate in SketchUp, which exports them as .obj files; one file per object, with material files (.mtl), all in the same directory. I use a simple wrapper around ObjToJme to convert them to .jme files in the same directory. Reduced to essentials, the wrapper just does

ObjToJme main = new ObjToJme();

main.setProperty("mtldir", dir);

main.setProperty("texdir", dir);

String[] fileArray = dirFile.list();

for (int i = 0; i < fileArray.length; i++)

{

String s = fileArray;

if (s.endsWith(INPUT_SUFFIX))

{

String o = s.substring(0, s.lastIndexOf(INPUT_SUFFIX))+OUTPUT_SUFFIX;

File inFile = new File(dirFile, s);

File outFile = new File(dirFile, o);

String[] argArray = new String[] {inFile.getCanonicalPath(), outFile.getCanonicalPath()};

main.attemptFileConvert(argArray);

}

}

To eliminate the likelihood I'm just doing something wrong, I moved Maggie.obj and Maggie.mtl into my .obj directory, and used BinaryToXML to print the resulting Maggie.jme as XML, shown below. For brevity I've replaced all but the first and last two numbers in each XML element with …

<scene >

<mesh name="temp0" >

<vertex data="6.21503 0.84252 … 57.05824 73.99062" >

</vertex>

<normal data="-0.577201 0.816591 … 0.16023 0.549042 0.820292" >

</normal>

<color >

</color>

<texturecoords data="0.0 0.0 …  0.0 0.0" >

</texturecoords>

<index data="0 1 … 642 543" >

</index>

<materialstate diffuse="0.8 0.8 0.8 1.0" color="0" ambient="0.2 0.2 0.2 1.0" emissive="0.0 0.0 0.0 1.0" specular="1.0 1.0 1.0 1.0" face="0" shiny="0.0" >

</materialstate>

<texturestate >

</texturestate>

</mesh>

</scene>