Noob that needs help importing models

Hey guys, noob here. I just started a taking an online class where we will be using JMonkeyEngine to do assignments. I’ve never used it before, though I am familiar with java. I’m having a problem that the instructor can’t seem to answer, so I’m coming here for help.

All I need help with is importing a model. Our first assignment says to download any blend model from blendswap.com and import it into JMonkey. I’ve followed the instructions as they were presented in the instructional video we were given, but I’m not having any luck. Here’s the gist:

1. I create a new BasicGame in JMonkey.
  2. I add jme3 test data to the library.
  3. I download a blend model (I’ve done multiple, from multiple blend versions).
  4. I click Import Model and select the .blend file.

This is where things get wonky. When I try to import, just about every model says that there is missing files, typically .png. I’m assuming these are textures, but I’m not certain. I chose to not look for these missing files, since I guess they weren’t included in the download, and continue on. The majority of the blends I tried importing would skip over the preview model screen and, as a result, wouldn’t show up in the models asset folder. One model actually did give me a preview, but some error about being able to locate vertices for triangulating mesh’s (sorry, I’m going off memory) appeared. The model itself was just an incomprehensible polygon in space. This model showed up in the asset folder, but when I tried adding it to a scene I was given a null pointer exception.

I know this shouldn’t be this difficult, but I just don’t know what it is I’m doing wrong. Anyone know? (I’m using JME version 3.1)