Normalize Imported Model

I am new to JME. Working on one project. I just imported a human model (ogre3D). I scaled my model which is messing with the mesh normals. I know in C++ i can add this line glEnable(GL_NORMALIZE) to normalize my model. What i have to do in JME 3 to normalize my model?

@ch.gulraiz said: I am new to JME. Working on one project. I just imported a human model (ogre3D). I scaled my model which is messing with the mesh normals. I know in C++ i can add this line glEnable(GL_NORMALIZE) to normalize my model. What i have to do in JME 3 to normalize my model?

As mentioned in the other thread, the JME default lighting shader already normalizes the normals:
vec3 wvNormal = normalize(g_NormalMatrix * modelSpaceNorm);

…so either you are using different shaders or your problem is something else. Do use normal maps? Have you generated tangents?

Many thanks pspeed.

I am importing my model and scaling it. I am not playing with anything else. If i am not scaling then model appears very big. Some how i have to scale it or have manipulate. My code is given below …

[java] Spatial mymodel = assetManager.loadModel(“human.obj”);
mymodel.setLocalScale(0.4f);

rootNode.attachChild(mymodel);
	DirectionalLight sun = new DirectionalLight();
	sun.setDirection((new Vector3f(-1.0f, -1.0f, -1.0f)));
	sun.setColor(ColorRGBA.White);
	rootNode.addLight(sun); [/java]

Whatever 3d modeling software you used (blender,3DSmax etc) can influence the size of the model. I see in your code setLocalScale. If its too big or small you can change the scale. What benefit of normalizing it would you have over setting the scale?

@Jacob Thanks for the response. Another question i have to ask. My target is to change / update human model when ever i will get different height of a person / chest size etc. When i am trying to scale geometries it stretch the model that does not look good. How i can achieve this ?