NPE on cross-class loadModel

Okay, so I am at a loss. I’ve gone through everything I can think of. I can only assume that I am making a very stupid mistake. I’m kinda new to JME, sorry!

I have three classes, main, InitHex, and SimplexIteration. Init is called by main, simplex is called by init. When I run Init on its own with its own main method, it works fine, as soon as I call it from main, it gives me in NPE. The purpose of the code is to make a hex grid using simplex. Here is my code and the associated errors. I’ll try and keep it minimalistic. Just tell me if you need more, I didn’t want to waste space though.

[java]

public class InitHex{

private AssetManager assetManager;

private Node rootNode;

public void InitHex(AssetManager assetManager, Node rootNode) {

this.assetManager=assetManager;

this.rootNode=rootNode;

}

public void makeHex(float xin, float yin) {

Spatial hex = assetManager.loadModel(“Models/HexPiece_05/HexPiece_05.j3o”);

rootNode.attachChild(hex);

yA = noise*16;

}[/java]

This is the error I get,

Nov 23, 2012 7:35:13 PM com.jme3.app.Application handleError

SEVERE: Uncaught exception thrown in Thread[LWJGL Renderer Thread,5,main]

java.lang.NullPointerException

at mygame.InitHex.makeHex(InitHex.java:88)

at mygame.InitHex.makeGrid(InitHex.java:74)

at mygame.Main.simpleInitApp(Main.java:25)

at com.jme3.app.SimpleApplication.initialize(SimpleApplication.java:230)

at com.jme3.system.lwjgl.LwjglAbstractDisplay.initInThread(LwjglAbstractDisplay.java:129)

at com.jme3.system.lwjgl.LwjglAbstractDisplay.run(LwjglAbstractDisplay.java:205)

at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:722)

Specifically this line seems to trigger an error,

“Spatial hex = assetManager.loadModel(“Models/HexPiece_05/HexPiece_05.j3o”);”

Thanks in advance for any help. If anyone has questions about using simplex noise or something like that, I’d be happy to help :stuck_out_tongue: