NullPointer exception in StandardGame.initSystem() with DISPLAY_CANVAS mode

Since this is my first post, let me start off by saying that jme looks great!  I have been a Java3D user in the past, and then gave up on it because of its slow performance and lack of input support besides AWT (using java.awt.Robot is a real pain  :D).  Its Behavior classes were also very annoying.  Jme, on the other, hand is a much cleaner design and offers many features that even other popular indie engines such as Torque don't offer.  As a Java developer myself, thanks for making good quality games in Java a reality. 

I did notice the following bug in com.jmex.game.StandardGame:

When StandardGame.DISPLAY_SYSTEM is DISPLAY_CANVAS, line 249 : "camera = display.getRenderer().createCamera(display.getWidth(), display.getHeight());" always throws a NullPointerException because display.getRenderer() is null.  I looked deeper into the source code, and I noticed that LWJGLDisplaySystem.createCanvas does not initialize the renderer (only LWJGLDisplaySystem.createWindow does).  So, the line display.createRenderer(new LWJGLRenderer(settings.getWidth(),settings().getHeight())); should be added after the canvas is initialized.  Or the renderer should be initialized in LWJGLDisplaySystem.createCanvas.

I have been using the latest version from HEAD.

The renderer is created by DisplaySystem's initForCanvas method.  This is split out so that initialization can happen in the right thread (the thread responsible for repainting the canvas).

I'm on a different pc at the moment and don't have the source code in front of me, but should StandardGame be calling DisplaySystem.initForCanvas, or should I be calling that before constructing a StandardGame?

I don't personally use standard game, but you'd want to call it after the display system is created and before anything that needs access to the renderer.  You'll also need to call it in the proper thread as noted above.