Object direction

Hi,

i am new to JME (actually my second day…) and have some problem with setting object's direction. I want it to face the direction it follows. This code randomly makes a path for the object. I tried to set the objects face to the direction with lookat, but it doesnt really work (i dont see any change, it looks always to the same direction):

st.setPosition(0, 0, new Vector3f(x,y,z));

float f = r.nextFloat();

xa=f15;

f = r.nextFloat();

ya=f
19;

f = r.nextFloat();

za=f*25;

st.setPosition(0, 1, new Vector3f(xa,ya,za));

modell.lookAt(new Vector3f(xa,ya,za), new Vector3f(0,1,0));

st.interpolateMissing();

x=xa;

y=ya;

z=za;

I think i dont use the lookat correctly. Can you advise? Thanks.

the way u use look at method is fine.

but did u update ur geometric state after that?

No, i dont think i have…how can i do that?

gombasp said:

No, i dont think i have...how can i do that?

what game implementation r u using? basegame, standardgame, simplegame?

and btw another thing i just thought of.

when u use model.lookAt(), make sure the vector3f u passed in its in world coordinates.

if u want to use a normalized direction unit vector, use model.getlocalRotation.lookAt();

I tried to add modell.updateGeometricState(0,true). Now the modell is far away from my viewpoint but still facing wrong direction (but why is it that far?)

Then i tired

modell.getLocalRotation().lookAt(new Vector3f(xa,ya,za), new Vector3f(0,1,0));

This is also not the working…

I use simple game and loaded a 3ds modell. I understand that 3ds has a different coordinate system - but it seems that its not changing its face to movement direction at all.