Ogre4j

Quite accidentally popped into a little thing called Ogre4j today. As many of you (probably) know, it uses JNI to make all the Ogre3d interfaces available in java. Searching around on our forum here, turns out Ogre4j has been mentioned only 3 times and only in one thread has the discussion really taken off the ground. However all that was a while ago.

Apparently the Ogre4j project has seen a surge of new activity lately. Well not a big surge, but the activity is there - on their website, sourceforge, and also the SF forum. Quite accidentally I also discovered that one jME user is making use of Ogre4j in conjunction with jMe. So… this all intrigues me a lot…

How many of you have taken a longer look into Ogre4j or do you think there could be things worth investigating here? Perhaps SOME functionality or modules we can use? People often seem to frown upon JNI interfaces, but I have no personal experience with them, so please frown freely, if you DO have experience.

As another user mentioned, using OGRE through JNI is a messy business. I started off writing a game using ogre4j, but switched to jMe not so long ago. I got fantastic support from the authors of ogre4j and the OGRE community but jMe won me over easily. Using a wrapper takes away a lot of things that make Java great: the integration with your code (possibility to easily study how it works, extend the classes, garbage collection, the possibility to use your favorite design pattern (like MVC) without worrying about stuff like not getting enough access or weird threading problems, etc).

So, looking at ogre4j I don't think there's much to investigate. It would be interesting though to see a comparison between OGRE and jMe features…

jonkri said: