Open world game

Hello, I am making an open world game, and I need some advice in regards to the terrain. How would I make a large open world land mass? My initial instinct was to make one large terrain, but I quickly dismissed that as seeing there is probably size limitation and performance problems associated with it.

What I am think of is making many smaller land masses and connection them all, is there an effective way of doing this instead of just using “.setLocalTranslation”? If I were to use “.setLocalTranslation”, how would I know how many units to move each terrain? Also would I need to do anything special to be able to move between them?

Is there perhaps a simpler of more efficient way of doing this? Perhaps a 3rd party plug-in, or a plug-in that is already included with jMonkey? I am sorry if this seems like a really noob question, all my previews programming experience has been 2D games, and I just used a 2D array to make a large open world. This is my first time doing 3D programming so please bear with me.

Thanks in advance for any answers.

re: “large open world land mass”… when you say “large”, what exactly do you mean? We may think different things.

…because then you go on to mention large open worlds in 2D. From my perspective, if you never dealt with paging and such in 2D then the worlds really weren’t that large… but it’s all relative.

I’m guessing seeded endless terrain

Which is a great learning exercise with JME (though it already has an endless terrain generator built into it)

The basic idea is using a seeded noise function to always produce the same height info at any given point in space. From this, you generate a section of the height map, which you then use to generate a mesh for the tile in question.

And as @pspeed said you should investigate paging systems, because you certainly do not want to recreate a tile you just unloaded and GC’d when there is the potential of needing to use it seconds after it was unloaded.