Ortho and Depthbuffer?

Hi,

I was just wondering - what’s the best way to disable the depthbuffer and turn on orthogonal rendering? Is it valid to directly set GL11 settings or is there another way?

And, once that’s done, what’s the draw order? Does it cycle through the root node’s children in order of addition, cycling through their children in order of addition, and so on?

Additionally, can one change which node is considered the root node of the scenegraph? Say, one has several scenes, and wants to switch easily, so does setRootNode(root_node_of_other_scene) or something?

If you haven’t guessed, I’m trying to see how well a 2D port of jME would work. :smiley: I’m new to jME, though, so I don’t get how everything is set up.

For orthogonal rendering you can set the camera in parallel projection mode (cam.setParallelProjection(true)), no need to disable the depth buffer, so everything is sorted like it should.

As a rule of thumb never call directly OpenGL routines directly, it can have bad side effects because the engine takes care of that on it’s own.

For switching the root node, you can can use the viewPort.attachScene, getScene, removeScenes methods.

hope that helps

The problem is that a 2D setup needs the depth buffer to be off. You want the display to be based on draw order instead of depth value. Then, since you can cluster objects into categories with the root node, you can create Layers for objects to be rendered to (a very useful tool with 2D games).

So… is there a way to disable it?

Whats the point of using a 3D engine when you really want this basic 2D drawing?

Basically, some other people and myself recently got together to make games, and when looking for an engine, jME stood out. However, we want to do some games in 2D (at least at first). We still wanted to use jME, so we thought we’d try making a small library on top of the engine to enable 2D development easily.