Ownership in the Wiki

While browsing the Wiki today I couldn't help but notice there is a lot of "ownership".

By that I mean there are numerous pages marked as being by user_xyz or references to I and personal experiences.

The reason I bring this up is I see there being two problems with such ownership.

1. Professionalism, jME has matured so much even since I've been hanging around.  As it approaches version 1.0 it needs to start presenting itself more professionally to be taken seriously.  Regardless of how helpful a tutorial is when it's got "for the total noob" at the end it just doesn't come across as a serious (sorry for singling that tutorial out).

2. Editing, this is perhaps the bigger problem.  People are much less likely to update the wiki if they know who originally wrote it.  Even more so if the person is a regular visitor to the site still.  The best example of this is the fact I'm writing this post instead of just removing such ownership as I don't ant to offend people!

You can view all the old revisions and the usernames of who wrote them, so if you really wanted to know who wrote what (perhaps to ask them something) you can still find out.

What does everyone else think?

I would tend to disagree.  One of the advantages to a wiki is personalized tutorials.  Besides, I think the idea of "professionalism" is a different entity entirely when you're talking about an open-source project as opposed to a project that intends to sell its product.  An open-source project can still be professional while still maintaining a very personal feel…I believe this is one of the reasons open-source projects are so successful.

"for the total noob" I would equate to "for dummies"…they tend to sell alright. :wink:

i actually like "for the total noob" and don't find it unprofessional.

but i don't like seeing edits such as "added by Sf3Ra" or such crap as that doesn't help anyone.