Passing instance from control to appstate

Hello!
First of all, I am new to JME and I am pretty amazed of it. Ten years ago or so we tried to write a MM game using Ogre, OpenAL and few other libs like paging langscape manager etc etc and it was a real pain to integrate them altogether having lack of documentation, bunch of different call and naming conventions, respecting individual restrictions and so on. Finally we realized that we’ll never finish this amount of work in reasonable time period and dropped the project. Sad but not that original story, right? :slight_smile: Now I see something looks like “Toolbox of my dream” in JME3 where all that tremendous work is already done for us. Thanks for that, great work!

Now to my noobish case :slight_smile:

Say, i have gameplay appstate that handles myself and enemy starships in space. Starship has fire control which spawns individual fire bursts. Each burst is just an instance of some simple class that has its own control and life time. The problem is that I can’t handle the burst’s life in starship control as ship might be destroyed (i.e. removed from scene and memory along with its controls) and burst must still exist and fly towards its target. So as far as I understand I have to pass the burst object to appstate somehow. How do i have to do it properly?

First, the main problem is that you are treating spatials like game objects. This is about like hooking a Swing TextField right up to your database and then wondering how to do transactional commits across a whole UI.

The true story is that your lasers, ships, etc. are game objects and the spatials should merely reflect the current state of the game.