Player/rigid body unable to jump when walking down a slope

Hey guys. I’m new to the JMonkey Engine, but pretty experienced with Java and game development. I installed JME3 beta along with the sdk and have read through and tested the ‘official’ tutorials. I like the engine a lot, but can’t seem to get properly working physics. What I am currently working on is a simple 3rd person platformer which uses the physics and scene from the HelloCollision example (the player is a capsuleShape character control which moves via the walkdirection vector but with an offset for free rotation). Everything appears to be working correctly, but if the player is moving downhill (eg. down the terrain or rooftops) the built-in onGround method returns false, and sure enough, attempting to jump does not work. Is there a way I can resolve this issue? I will gladly post more info or code if this is too vague.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions (I searched the forum and did not see any related problems, but if I missed an example or another thread which explains how to resolve this feel free to just post a link and I will play around with it some more).

I suppose you are using the character? Note that it doesn’t have “normal physics” but its own simple physics simulation. So you can’t really avoid this as the character is actually off the ground and falling. You could do a physicsSpace.rayTest() yourself, using a ray that goes a bit further down to only trigger when the character is really more “off the ground”.

Thanks for the fast reply! I thought that might be the case, so I attempted to write my own basic physics, but couldn’t seem to get proper collision detection. I tried two methods, neither of which worked correctly: