Populating the SceneGraph

Hey there Monkeys!

Newbie here! I probably have kind of a stupid question, but I can’t wrap my head around this…

First of all: This is not about a game! Just a project regadring a scenegraph!

So what I did so far:
I’m just loading geometries into a scenegraph. Nothing more.
The problem I have right now is:
Every geometry is loaded into the origin (0,0,0). But I want to display them in a row.
Does anybody know how to do that? Where does a geometry starts and ends and how do I use that knowlege so that the next geometry is placed right next to the other one?

Help would be really appreciated!

getLocalTranslation() - local space position
getWorldTranslation() - global position (adding parent nodes positions)

getWorldBound() - casted for example to BoundingBox you can have extentX * 2 = width for example.

start position is getLocalTranslation()
end position is getLocalTranslation() + ((BoundingBox)getWorldBound()).getXExtent() * 2 → if bounding is boundingBox type. (and X is width, not Y or Z)

in GUINode, size 1 = 1 pixel.

Everything that extends Spatial (Node, Geometry, etc) will have a BoundingVolume - usually a BoundingBox - or for better explanation - an Axis Aligned Bounding Box (AABB).

BoundingBox bb = (BoundingBox)myThing.getWorldBound(); // .getModelBound() for Geometry
Vector3f extent = bb.getExtent(null);

2 Likes

The spatial’s AABB will probably work for this case.

In general, however, it’s not a reliable way to determine the size of a model. For one thing, it might not be the minimal AABB, particularly if the model is rotated. And for animated models, it’s usually calculated for the model’s “bind pose”; playing animations may cause a model to “poke out” of its AABB.

Thank you all!
I’ll try this! Hopefully I’ll achive something… ^^’

On a totally different note… Do you also happen to know, if I can move the internal coordinate system of a geometry? I mean, in a way that it is not in the centre of a geometry anymore?