Problem with loading models

Hi,

I am a jMonkeyEngine newb, and i have some problems with loading models.

here is my code:[java] @Override

public void simpleInitApp(){

Spatial Terrain = assetManager.loadModel("Models/Plane.mesh.xml");

Material mat_terrain = new Material(assetManager,"Models/Plane.material");

Terrain.setMaterial(mat_terrain);

rootNode.attachChild(Terrain);

DirectionalLight sun = new DirectionalLight();

sun.setDirection(new Vector3f(-0.1f, -0.7f, -1.0f));

rootNode.addLight(sun);

}[/java]I am using jMonkeyPlatform and the files Plane.mesh.xml and plane.material are in the models folder of the assets. What am i doing wrong?

You don’t need to load the Plane.material, its done automatically.

Just use this for the loading code:

[java]

Spatial Terrain = assetManager.loadModel(“Models/Plane.mesh.xml”);

rootNode.attachChild(Terrain);

[/java]

1 Like

Strangest error i evre had: the model is now red, and i had a green material…

How can i make it back green?

There’s an error in the log, the material probably cannot be found.

Make sure that your capitalization is correct, the material file should be called Plane.material not plane.material

I tried an other material: a texture, but it has realy uggly effects. what should i do?

screenshot:

Does your model have proper UV coordinates?

UV coordinates?

googeling…

found it!

It looks like it has something to do with them. how do you set them?

I had the same problem when i started with jme two months ago, and was solved in this thread.

glaucomardano said:
I had the same problem when i started with jme two months ago, and was solved in this thread.

I tried everything in that topic and it won't work.
I tried rendering it in blender, and it looked fine, but in jmonkeyengine it looked uggly.