Problems Building the Project

Hi there,

I’m new to jMonkey Engine but it was a pleasure to toy around with it so far. So thanks for a great tool, right from the start!

My Problem is building the Project, to try running it on other systems (maybe).

I am following the tutorials, implementing all the Stuff in my own project right away, using the Resources from the jme3testdata package. So nothing special is going on so far.

I did a clean build, packed up the result in “dist” and sent it to a freind of mine. Guess what: it doesn’t work.

His rig shows the jMonkey settings dialog and once hitting “Ok”, the Dialog disappears and nothing happens.

Running the same binary on my PC causes no problems. I took the same stuff I sent away to a path, unrelated to the Workspace and still no Problems for me.

I hope I miss a major step in building the source or something. But I didn’t finde anything on that yet…

Don’t want to involve the Guy in collecting debugging information if possible :slight_smile:

Can you help me?

Greetings

Marrek

Idk about it, but it might work if he tries to run it using cmd.exe

Then MAYBE, not saying it will, the error message will appear in the cmd after the program has exit…

Dunno, just a thought…

Yeah, run from command line to see any error output, cant help much with “doesnt work”. One guess might be you use OgreXML files directly, they are not included in the release version of your application as you are expected to use j3o files instead. You can change that in the project settings.

1 Like

Thanks for the reply.

That would be, explaining the guy, how to run a command-line and what to do in it… I hoped for someone to open my mind to obvious stuff like “SURE, you need to build it, using the other Button! That way it is only running with JDK installed, moron!” or alike.

Marrek