Problems with open source projects?

Hey there!
So, one of my assignments at the moment is to write piece on open-source software development. I have some experience of this, but I thought JMonkey would be a great place to ask :).

I recall a discussion on t0neg0ds topic prior to the release of the epic GUI plugin as arguments against it’s release were posed because of prior problems that arose. I guess from work becoming split and not combined? Open-source projects I guess offer more opportunity for the projects to fork, and for work to separated rather than combine thus resulting in multiple projects that each have their own advantages and disadvantages and no single solution.

Are there any comments on this? What other advantages/disadvantages are there on open-source project collaboration, decision making, etc? Is it better to have one ‘dictator’ who can sign off on decisions or for decisions to be reached by voting?

Could there be problems where users want more fancy features(and these being more fun so are more likely to have people working on them) at the expense of the less-boring but possibly more important tasks being complete?

Advantages:

• Creates communities (jME3!!)
  • It makes really sophisticated programs available for anyone
  • Creates opportunities for people with an idea, to start it off, and it be finished by many
  • Companies which use Open source software benefit from it being improved, and so can put manpower behind it (i.e Facebook with MySQL), so everyone benefits in the end.
  • Allows people to dig through code of others and learn from them.
  • GSOC (Google Summer of Code) teaches students, and helps open source projects

Disadvantages:

• A lot of projects often get abandoned (jME2!!!) (but then an advantage, they can be picked up by other people (jME3!!) :slight_smile:
  • There will be some stuff about direction and control over the project, but i’m not so familiar with the issues here