Problems with PhysicsCharaceterNode

Hi!

First off, I’m very new to Jme and 3D programming in general so the questions that I might post from this day on that is really stupid to some!

Second, it was a long time ago that I wrote some actual Java-code and currently I’m just hacking away to find my way back and to learn jme (jme3)

Okej, so here it goes:

What I’m trying to do is create a sort of character, npc like object to use in my world, this object should in the future contain information regarding the state of the npc, if it’s interactable, shootable, HP and so on. But for now I currently struggle giving life to this object in my 3D world.

The class is called LifeFormObject (I’ve been using some ideas from what the user tehflah posted some months ago) it extends PhysicsCharacterNode this i reconned was the best solution to create my own kind of “world object” for NPC’s, players and what not.

Then what i did was creating “sort of clone” of the “ChaseCamera?” class, called ThirdpersonCamera, as I did not spend enough time figuring out how to extend the original class I just made a copy and did the changes there.

But what happeneds is:

As i spawn my object into creation by adding it to the bulletAppState and the mainNode object I get a “sort of 0 fps freeze” for like 2 min, then the game slowly works it’s way up and I can start to move arround in the world with an FPS of arround 150 - 200.

What I have tried:

The thing that got me going on this is that when i instead of PhysicsCharacterNode uses a PhysicsNode I do not see this kind of behaviour. But when I read up on them both I understand that PhysicsCharacterNode is the best one to use for solving my needs.

Code: http://pastebin.com/aCfD9ujL

The code here is copy-pasted from the tutorials and I’m currently as I said just experimenting with the API. if you trouble reading and / or understanding the code, I might do the effort of cleaning it up and commenting parts better.