Pulsating cube in the HelloLoop tutorial

Hey there, jMonkeyEngine community,

I’m an absolute beginner to this engine and just started to use it for a game I want to create for my bachelor thesis. I’m currently doing all the tutorials and encountered the first problem in the fourth tutorial about the simpleUpdate function.

The third exercise of this tutorial tells me to create a pulsating cube. That’s not difficult, of course, and it works, but ONLY if I don’t use a value lower than 0.8 in the following code snippet:

[java]Vector3f player3Scale = player3.getLocalScale();

if(player3Scale.getX() > 1.0f) {
        grows = false;
    } else if(player3Scale.getX() < 0.8f) {
        grows = true;
    }

if(grows) {
        player3.scale(1 + (3f * tpf));
    } else {
        player3.scale(1 - (3f * tpf));
    }[/java]

If I change the 0.8 to a 0.7, for example, the cube starts growing indefinitely, caused by the .getX() values dropping below 0. The console output (.getX() values) looks like the following:

[java]1.0
-0.17555684[/java]

Can someone tell me why that’s the case - whether I’m missing something or it’s a bug and how I can fix it?

Really strange, it should work, i tested it my computer also it worked.
did you try to delete and create a new main class with the same code?

Tried it, still doesn’t work. It’s strange, indeed. I even commented out all the other geometries in the scene - still the same problem…

I’m suspicious because the code you posted is clearly different than the code you run because the code you run has a debug println in it.

Paste the actual code… in case there is some significant typo that was not included in the transcription.

The only difference is that println, actually. I just excluded it because it’s not important.

@@MateStrysewske said: The only difference is that println, actually. I just excluded it because it's not important.