Pure Java/Software Renderer

Hi JMonkeyEngine community,

How difficult would it be to write an adapter so that we can use the JMonkeyEngine scene graph on top of a pure java software renderer such as jGL 3D Graphics Library for Java

JavaGL (aka JGL) is a pure java implementation of OpenGL API on top of Java2D.

Someone tried something similar here, but he was aiming more toward Xith:

JIGL \ Software \ Library \ CroftSoft

I'm not familiar with the rendering components for JMonkeyEngine, so I'm not sure how difficult this will be, or if similar efforts have been undertaken before.

Thanks,

Sam Reid

Hi Sam,

I am a jme newbie, anyway it seems to me mainly you should rewrite any class which name starts with LWJGL. Example:

LWJGLTextureState

LWJGLBlendState

LWJGLCamera

About 37 classes… those are the classes that "convert" jme data / data structures into the appropriate OpenGL calls using the lwjgl (lwjgl.org) library.  You should use JavaGL instead. I think it could be a lot of work …  :expressionless:

What is your use case for a software renderer?

Hi!

JavaGL and JIGL are very slow especially on old machines with a small micro-processor. Is software rendering really useful whereas JMonkeyEngine 2 uses 2 bindings of OpenGL for Java? JOGL is very reliable even on quite old machines but the JOGL renderer needs much work to be as complete as its LWJGL equivalent. I really doubt of the usefulness of a software renderer.

Or one can use JOGL and the user only needs to accept the certificate from sun, and I doubt sun will install viruses :wink:

Software rendering is useful for compatibility reasons as well. Broken opengl drivers are everywhere.

Tobias said:

Software rendering is useful for compatibility reasons as well. Broken opengl drivers are everywhere.