Question for the community

Hello all,

I am a new java developer. In the past, all I have ever done is utility applications for my workplace. I really enjoy gaming, and am very happy to have found jME, but my question is this:

Should I go ahead and jump into the 3d world and start trying to play with jME, or would it be more benificial to work with a 2d or even text based game first to get my feet wet?

Thank you for your thoughts and consideration!

– Lee

Some background 3D knowledge helps lots, more specifically OpenGL knowledge as jME uses that as it’s graphics API. Reading the jME wiki helps if you never did anything 3D as it mostly concentrates on “how to do this” rather than teach you the concepts.

In my humble opinion, go ahead and dive in to jME.

Linke Momoko_fan said there is a lot of surrounding knowledge and background knowledge that will help.

In my experience, you soak that up like a sponge when you are enjoying yourself and making progress.

Ifyou try to learn it all up front, it can be overwhelming - and often doesn't make sense until you have got under the covers.

I first started looking at Java 3D engines a few years ago now, and it didn't take me long to settle on jME. But I figured there were a lot of things I needed to learn first before I started writing 3D (like err… Java  :-o ).

Basically I got nowhere fast ever since. The last few weeks I just thought right, I have some free time and I'm gonna write a game… now I'm proressing at a rate of knots.

I find jME to be for the most part very easy to get going with - and you learn much better when you're inspired.

Thanks to all… Im in the middle of the Flag Rush tut atm, and enjoying it alot

From your first post I would assume that you are already quite familiar with Java, so I don't think that learning JME (or any library for that matter) would be problematic. What I would recommend is to start of small, and don't try to create a MMORPG as your first game :slight_smile: