Question n. 1 (999.999 following): viewer camera

I started playing a bit with jmp trying to add a “scene location bookmark” panel. The plugin panel in on the right.

The question is: how to move the camera used by the SceneViewer module? I made few attempts with SceneApplication but the camera returned by its “getCamera” method is always null.

Yay, happy to see the first platform user :smiley:

First you have to send a SceneRequest to the SceneViewer to tell it you want to use the scene. It has got to contain a JmeNode (create with NodeUtility.createNode(Node node)) and some info about yourself. Then register as a SceneListener to the scene. as soon as you get your own request back you are the owner of the scene and can do anything to the cam (as long as you do it on the render thread).

SceneComposer is the first actual plugin for jMP, so you can look how its done there. All WIP and input welcome.

Cheers,

Normen

Ah but I see that your plugin is meant for something else… You dont want to load a scene but you want to modify the cam position for a scene that is loaded… Hm, this would only work for plugins owning the scene that dont update the cam position each frame but only when the mouse is moved or smth… Like it is now it would either better fit as an extension to to the scenecomposer plugin or its a general list that plugins could tap into (but then each plugin has to build in the funtionality)

One of the coolest thing of jmp for me is the fact that it is built on top of a magnificent code editor.

So the use case i had in mind was more or less this: