r7089 : Basic support for NURBS curves and surfaces added

This is awesome.

:evil: :evil: Can’t wait for the tutorial :evil: :evil:

I wonder, why games dont use NURBS model?

3 Likes

Great, is it possible to have basic code sample on nurbs (i’m not a math expert), nothing about it on wiki… ?

a appreciate your help for starting my custom modeler…

Thx

They might become more usefull when using geometry shaders, however I don’t reall ysee any advantage else.

So who saw “7089” and thought @phr00t made a new game?

This guy :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Don’t worry, I’ll get to it. I just need to make (7089 - 3079) / 10 = 401 sequels :stuck_out_tongue:

Thanks for your suggest, i found a relevant document about knots : http://www.saccade.com/writing/graphics/KnotVectors.pdf

i guess i will use in a first implementation the “Shape.Surface” class to deal with nurbs and on a second iteration, enhance the modeler with geometry shader.

it seems geometry shader is available since opengl 3.2 only (and directX 10) and not supported on most of current hardware (ok on my desktop but not on my laptop).

i’m interested in geometry shader + JMonkey3D, some articles / samples available ?

regards and thanks to the team for the work from the past 2 years !

1 Like

as i good know jme dont have geometry shader at the moment

Yes, but since its opensource and quite clean, geometrys could probably be added relativly easily if anyone need them. (Not this year for me, I’m having enough stuff to do for now)

hello guys, i’m trying to write down sample code in order to provide it as an article later in the wiki (about nurbs)…

Currently i’m trying to create a nurb which interpolates two functions (to B-spline, one on Y axis, the other on Z axis).

Each curve would be as is :

http://i.imgur.com/nKgVd.jpg

the degree is 4 and knot vector is : [0 0 0 0 1 2 3 3 3 3]

so i’ve made a method to init the nurb surface :

[snippet id=“21”]

this is the SimpleInitApp method :

[snippet id=“22”]