Randomly generated path

Hi there. I’m sorry if I sound a bit newbish, but well, I am a newbie here.

I want to develop a game where the player is running on a pathway in a forest. I want to know how, if there’s a way, to randomly generate the pathway with timely turns and objects on the path to avoid. Is there a functionality in JME to handle that? The basic design of the game is score-based so the game technically runs forever, given that you don’t ‘die’. So I can’t make a world map, I need dynamically created pathway. Where the player sees a never ending horizon. Hope you get what I mean. :S

Any help, guidance, tips would be much appreciated. Thanks.

A* (A-Star) is the most common algorithm to do that. As the actual implementation and use is quite specific to a game its best (and quite easy) to do this yourself really. Looking for the term in the forum here or on google should give you enough information.

I don’t think you quite got what I meant. Isn’t A* for path-finding? I am more concerned about how to create the random the random path (and generate the graphics). Like for example in the game ‘Temple Run’? :blush:

Well you nodes could be created with some randomness (the cost or node travels) but still you’d need some way to make an actual path no?

Well generally A* is used for pathfinding, the question is asking about dynamically created worlds.

I guess something like the various infinite terrain and infinite corridor things I’ve seen discussed a few times might help.

The problem you are going to have Neogeek is that for the sort of game you are describing the creation and positioning of the path is a lot of the game design - so even if you were able to take an existing system it wouldn’t give you a unique game of your own design. It would just give you a clone of that existing one.